Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

09.25.03 - 9:23 a.m.

as it turns out we have been deemed too uncool/neat to remain in our current living situation. There was a "house meeting" which is loosely defined as gavin shuffling his weight from foot to foot trying to articulate some sort of concern. After about ten minutes of points he finally just spit it out that "in the long run, i think it would be better for all of us if you guys moved out."

we had just made stir fry in the filthy filthy kitchen and it was the first warm meal we had had in two weeks and the only thing i could think about, as he was mumbling and stuttering and crying even, was that while he was taking a ridiculous amount of time to kick us out my stir fry was getting cold.

We looked all day for a new place. That search ended in the PERFECT apartment which ended in the realization that it was 7 miles away from the metro and unless we had a car we couldnt live there. That night we had beer and cheetos for dinner.

For whatever reason we are still in high spirits, and we are still living in the house, but we feel scared as well. Its hard for me to focus on school knowing that i dont have a place to live. Studying is always interrupted by the notion that there are not enough hours in the day to do what i need to do for school and find a new house/move in.

On top of all this financial aid had some sort of collective brain fog and beautifully and intricately fouled up my aid so that i now OWE $2000 instead of holding in my hand the $10,000 they actually owe me. This also makes finding a new house difficult as i have a negative amount of money to offer.

Though there is good news to offer, i am sure. Let me rile some up.

1) i got the job i wanted (writing test questions for survey of american lit.) This allows me to salve my vindictive nature by constructing 100 test questions a day for students that would rather be chewing their fingers off one by one than be taking the test that i made. Hahaha. ha.

2) i like all of my classes, even the ones that are too hard for me. My professors are all super smart and seem to be kind and understanding, on the whole.

3) i am dedicated to learning how to make soup.

4) death cab for cutie and mates of state are playing next month at the black cat.

and finally, and this is nothing to balk at:

5) for the first time in my life ALL of the pairs of underwear i own are comfortable. Praise Jesus.

6) i also went to mass today and there were no kneelers. It made me feel like a protestant. AND the wine was port and i love that. Sometimes they just use, you know, your typical cabernet, but when they use port not only is it tasty and makes you think of dessert, it is also just so italian and it makes me feel mafiaoso.

And here is something else...the hashbrowns here are ENTIRELY different from the ones at home. I dont know how hashbrowns can differ so much. Its weird and theyre gross.

Next time i will hopefully have a house and $10,000.

love and love

kate

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!